Black Cherries

My love hears me speak of truth
Hearsay my life bleeds luscious black cherries
Weeks elapsed but moments stood still
Coming home means understanding the beginning                    07b33f244ba9aea49a4ed11736d0fa1a-removebg-preview
As uncertain as to the concept of time
Such a feeling will spark a flame
That will still be as tender as a promise

My head had met concretes and walls
Arms twisted and pinched
Lips split, silenced and mislead to comply
Sculpted vivid memories of pain lay bare
It is the very reason to not let traumas accumulate
For, they engender numbness and anxiety
Every turn leaves a scar

Not once innocent palms are besmeared by blood from tight clutches
So when the nights are long
And I recall the absurdity of teenagehood
You will find me shivering in remembrance
Startling at loud noises
Tears falling in the dark
Because I remember every little bit of it

Sweet,
Sour,
Bitter,
Wholesome,
And tangy
My life too is very much like black cherries.

Leave a comment